2018 General Election: McCracken County Results
By West Kentucky Star Staff
PADUCAH - The votes have been counted in Paducah and McCracken County, and residents will soon see some new faces in several city and county offices.

In the non-partisan Paducah City Commission race, incumbents Richard Abraham and Sandra Wilson will retain their seats, with 4,626 and 3,603 votes respectively. Gerald Watkins won election with 3,981 votes, as did Brenda McElroy with 3,183. Raynarldo Henderson came in fifth with 3,020 votes. Sarah Stewart Holland got 2,975 votes, and will lose her seat. Scott Jackson came in last with 2,200 votes.

All three County Commissioner races were contested, with incumbent Republican 1st District Commissioner Bill Bartleman beating Democrat Mark Scott 15,025 to 8,849. Incumbent Democrat Jerry Beyer was defeated 13,087 to 10,895 by his Republican challenger Jeff Parker in the 2nd district. Republican Eddie Jones, who defeated Scott Wathen in the Republican primary, beat Democrat Ryan Johnston 14,902 to 8,722 in the 3rd district.

Republican Bill Dunn, who got 14,555 votes will be McCracken County's new Property Valuation Administrator, after former PVA Nancy Bock resigned earlier this year amid an indictment on felony charges. His Democratic challenger Calvin Cole, Jr. lost by more than 20 percentage points with 9,401 votes.

Democrat Dan Sims lost his bid for McCracken County Jailer, being bested by Republican David Knight by a margin of nearly 4,000 votes (13,453 to 9,559). Independent candidate Joshua Graham came in a distant third, with 989 votes. The county's current jailer, Tonya Ray, who is facing felony charges, lost the Democratic primary to Sims.

McCracken County voters overwhelmingly voted in favor of a measure meant to give crime victims the same rights as the accused perpetrators. The measure, also known as "Marsy's Law", got 13,343 yes votes, and 7,117 no votes.

Several races in McCracken County were uncontested, including city and county school board races, Sheriff, Judge-Executive, Circuit and District Judges, Circuit Clerk, County Clerk, County Attorney, Coroner, Commonwealth Attorney, Surveyor, Constable and Justice of the Peace offices.

Published 11:02 PM, Tuesday Nov. 06, 2018
Updated 07:24 PM, Wednesday Nov. 07, 2018

Please login to leave a comment.
  • View Comment
    View (6) Comments