Simon Names IL Firearms Group Members
SPRINGFIELD, IL - Fifteen freshmen members of the Illinois General Assembly will be part of Lt. Gov. Sheila Simon's new firearms working group.

Simon announced the members on Tuesday. They include 13 Democrats and two Republicans from Chicago, the Chicago suburbs, southern Illinois, northern Illinois and western Illinois. Simon says the group will meet with people on both sides of the gun control debate to better inform legislation.

Simon said Tuesday that both the Illinois State Rifle Association and the Illinois Council Against Handgun Violence plan to meet with members to talk about concealed carry legislation.

A federal appeals court panel ruled last month that Illinois' ban on concealed weapons is unconstitutional. Attorney General Lisa Madigan is appealing the ruling. But lawmakers still face a deadline to pass a bill legalizing concealed carry.

The group includes:
 •Sen. Melinda Bush (D-Grayslake)
 •Sen. Thomas Cullerton (D-Villa Park)
 •Sen. Bill Cunningham (D-Chicago)
 •Sen. Michael Hastings (D-Orland Park)
 •Sen. Andy Manar (D-Bunker Hill)
 •Sen. Julie Morrison (D-Deerfield)
 •Sen. Steve Stadelman (D-Rockford)
 •Rep. Tom Demmer (R-Dixon)
 •Rep. Scott Drury (D-Highwood)
 •Rep. Charles Meier (R-Highland)
 •Rep. Christian Mitchell (D-Chicago)
 •Rep. Mike Smiddy (D-Hillsdale)
 •Rep. Emanuel Welch (D-Hillside)
 •Rep. Kathleen Willis (D-Addison)
 •Rep. Sam Yingling (D-Round Lake Beach)
For more information on the group, visit

Published 03:49 PM, Tuesday Jan. 29, 2013
Updated 08:28 AM, Wednesday Jan. 30, 2013

Please login to leave a comment.
  • View Comment
    View (4) Comments