Morant Named to Wooden Top-25 Watch List
By MSU Athletics
MURRAY - Murray State Racers super sophomore Ja Morant has been named to the John Wooden Award Top-25 Watch List as announced from Los Angeles, California.

The Wooden Award, first given in 1976, identifies the top player in collegiate basketball.

Morant, from Dalzell, S.C., wasn't on the top-50 preseason list for the Wooden Award, but has so impressed in 13 games this season, that he was included in the top-25 list. 

Morant has helped the Racers to an 11-2 record including a 2-0 start in the first week of play in the Ohio Valley Conference. He currently ranks first in the nation in assists per game (9.9 per game) and total assists (129) and eighth in the nation with nine double-double games this season. His scoring average of 23.2 per game ranks eighth in the country. Morant has one of only 16 triple-double games this season in NCAA D-I, he accomplished it against Missouri State (Nov. 26) with 29 points, 13 rebounds and 12 assists. 

With the triple-double aside, Morant has thrilled fans with games of 38 points at Alabama (Nov. 26), 23 points and 13 assists at Southern Illinois (Dec. 12), 27 points and 10 rebounds against Evansville (Dec. 18) including the winning basket with under a second remaining. Over the weekend, Morant was only two rebounds from a triple-double against Eastern Kentucky with 34 points, eight rebounds and 10 assists.

Before the season is over, the Wooden top-25 list will be paired to 15. Then nearly 1,000 voters will come up with the 10-player Wooden Award All American Team. The individual being named the winner of the 2019 John R. Wooden Award will be announced during the ESPN College Basketball Awards on Friday, April 12, 2019.

Morant is trying to follow former Racer Isaiah Canaan who was named to the Wooden All-America team in 2012.

The award is named in honor of legendary Coach John Wooden, who was the 1932 National Collegiate Basketball Player of the Year out of Purdue and later coached at Indiana State and UCLA. His teams at UCLA won 10 NCAA championships. He was also the first to be inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

Published 08:52 PM, Wednesday Jan. 09, 2019
Updated 06:32 AM, Thursday Jan. 10, 2019

Please login to leave a comment.
  • View Comment
    View Comments