McCracken Students Chosen for Governor’s Scholars
By WestKyStar & McCracken County Schools
PADUCAH - For the first time in school history, all student applications submitted to the Governor’s Scholars Program were accepted. 

McCracken County High School submitted 16 student applications and all 16 students were accepted into the program. Each district is allotted a number of candidates based on its junior class enrollment.

McCracken County High School juniors Katie Caruthers, Natalie Eastes, Lauren Ervin, Chesney Flynn, Hope Hodges, Abigail Kuntz, Lynae Lawrence, Manda Lin, Ella McBee, Olivia Wagner, Noah Ellis, Isaiah Frederich, Ian Leatherman, Jake Mitchell, Garrett Rudolph, and Max Thompson have been for the 2019 Kentucky Governor's Scholars Program.

The Governor's Scholars Program is a prestigious five-week summer program that is limited to 1,020 of the state's most outstanding students. Established in 1983, the program provides academic and personal growth through the balance of a strong liberal arts program with a full co-curricular and residential life experience.

The program is designed to help the participants achieve their academic and personal potential, encourage leadership skills, and to develop the their creativity and critical thinking skills. The scholars will convene this year at Bellarmine University, Centre College and Morehead State University.

Published 09:45 PM, Sunday Apr. 21, 2019
Updated 10:43 PM, Sunday Apr. 21, 2019