Bevin Joins Amicus Brief On Health Plans
By West Kentucky Star Staff
FRANKFORT - Kentucky Gov. Matt Bevin has joined 15 other states in a U.S. Court of Appeals amicus brief defending a key Trump Administration initiative offering expanded health insurance options, and lower healthcare costs, for small businesses and workers.   

The amicus brief was submitted in response to a lawsuit filed by the state of New York, challenging the Trump Administration's Department of Labor rule regarding Association Health Plans.  The rule allows small businesses to join together in larger groups to negotiate health coverage for employees.  As the brief notes, these plans would allow small employers to "take advantage of the 'increased bargaining power vis-à-vis hospitals, doctors, and pharmacy benefit providers' on which large groups rely."

Kentucky Attorney General Andy Beshear joined New York, California, and a handful of other states in suing the Trump Administration, effectively blocking Kentucky businesses from taking advantage of the market flexibility and reduced costs offered through AHPs.  Governor Bevin, in contrast, is fighting to support President Trump's efforts to make healthcare more affordable and accessible. 

"Healthcare costs are unsustainable for small businesses as a result of Obama-era healthcare policies and the passage of the Affordable Care Act," said Scott Brinkman, Secretary of the Governor's Executive Cabinet.  "Association Health Plans will allow more businesses to offer healthcare for their employees, meaning that more Kentuckians will be covered.  This is a commonsense, free-market solution to the spiraling costs of our healthcare system, and it's unfathomable that Attorney General Beshear would openly advocate against a policy that would benefit Kentucky's small businesses and thousands of citizens across the Commonwealth."

Gov. Bevin was joined by the Governor of Mississippi in signing the brief.  Fourteen additional states joined the brief through their Attorneys General, including Alabama, Georgia, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, Montana, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, and West Virginia.

Published 12:00 PM, Tuesday Jun. 11, 2019
Updated 05:58 AM, Wednesday Jun. 12, 2019

Please login to leave a comment.
  • View Comment
    View Comments



Most Commented Stories