2018 General Election: Graves County Results
By West Kentucky Star Staff
MAYFIELD - The results for the 2018 General Election in Graves County are complete, with the exception of the write-in candidates in the Sheriff's race.

Independent Jesse Perry has defeated Democrat Greg Higdon in the County Judge Executive race. Perry received 7,782 votes, to Greg Higdon with 4,545.

In the Sheriff's race, Dewayne Redmon won re-election, picking up 4,852 votes. Of the six write-in candidates, Jason Clark received the most votes. He finished with 2,795 votes. Davant Ramage had 1,872 votes. Bill Howard Harris finished with 552 votes. Robin L. Holmes had 163 votes. Michael Corey Apperson collected 85 votes, and Gregory Allen Jones finished with 63 votes.

George Workman defeated Randy Haley for Jailer. Workman received 8,161 votes, compared to Haley with 4,976. In the race for Coroner, Brad Jones won with 6,879 over Tony Sheridan with 6,296.

The top four in the race for Wingo City Commission will be on the new Commission. They are Howard E. Ward (144), Steven Joe Bunch (142), Rayburn E. Burge (107), and Brian Perkins (105).

The City of Mayfield will get a new mayor. Current City Councilwoman, Kathy S. O'nan received 1,409 votes, 94 more than her opponent, Steven Clay Elder, with 1,315.

The top 10 in the Mayfield City Council race will become the new City Council. These are: Jana Bennett Adams (1,184), Derrick Parrott (1,151), Chuck Whitnell (1,090), Barry McDonald (1,089), Wayne Potts (1,073), Brad Rodgers (1,048), Johnny "The Real" Jackson (1,028), Nathanael "Nate" Cox (1,004), Phil Myers (997), Carol R. Todd (988).

Graves County voters were in favor of a measure meant to give crime victims the same rights as the accused perpetrators, also called Marsy's Law. There were 3,228 'yes' votes and 2,337 'no' votes.

Published 11:24 PM, Tuesday Nov. 06, 2018
Updated 07:18 PM, Wednesday Nov. 07, 2018

Please login to leave a comment.
  • View Comment
    View (5) Comments