KY Recognizes School Board Members This Month
By WestKyStar Staff
CALLOWAY COUNTY - The students, faculty, staff and administrators of the Calloway County Schools are saluting their elected education leaders during January in Kentucky's 18th annual observation of School Board Recognition Month.

Terry Bourland, Jeff Gordon, Steve Grogan, Leeann Myers, and Richard Smotherman, are among the 872 school board members being honored across
the Commonwealth this month by 174 local school districts. Steve Grogan has served on the Calloway County board of education since 1995. Jeff Gordon has served since 1997. Terry Bourland first took office in 1999. Richard Smotherman has served on the board since 2001. Leeann Myers, the "rookie" on the board has served since 2007.

"Most folks would be very surprised at the range of issues considered, the number of questions from the public, and the important discussion of options and decisions that our board members are involved in," said Calloway County Superintendent Ken Bargo.

"Our district has performed well under the new state school assessment system that gave us some good measurements when the scores came out a few weeks ago," Bargo said. "Our board members work hard to support the teachers and principals as we all work to achieve our district vision that "Every student will be successful beyond his greatest expectations, now and in the future. Our board members have invested many hours gaining an understanding of the new accountability system to prepare themselves to make the decisions that will support our district-wide improvement. I'd like to invite everyone to thank our board members for the important work they are doing."

Information provided by David Dowdy, Calloway County Schools.

Published 02:00 PM, Thursday Jan. 17, 2013
Updated 02:48 PM, Thursday Jan. 17, 2013


Paducah, KY and Surrounding Area:


H: 73° L: 52°
Partly Cloudy

Partly Cloudy

View 7-Day Forecast