Kentucky General Election: Calloway County Races
By West Kentucky Star Staff
CALLOWAY COUNTY - A bulging ballot with dozens of candidates awaits voters in Calloway County on Tuesday.

Voters will decide on county offices, as well as races for Mayor of the City of Murray, the Murray City Council, Mayor of Hazel, the Hazel City Council, the First Congressional District, and also a referendum for a constitutional amendment.

The Calloway County Judge Executive race will have four candidates. Kenny Imes (R), James C. Gallimore (D), Vincent B. Costello (Veterans Party of America), and William Earl Marcum (I). Imes has been the 5th District State Representative, and is leaving that position to run for Judge Executive. 

In the 5th District State Representative race, current Calloway County Judge Executive, Larry Elkins (R), will face David Ramey (D), and in the 42nd Judicial Circuit Commonwealth's Attorney race, two Independent candidates will faceoff, Dennis R. Foust and incumbent, C. Mark Blankenship. The 42nd Judicial Circuit includes both Calloway and Marshall Counties.

The United States First Congressional District Representative race will feature incumbent James Comer (R) and Murray State University professor, Paul Walker (D).

Two Calloway County Magistrate Districts have contested races. In the 2nd Magisterial District, it will be William "Bill" Duncan (R) against Larry Crutcher (D), and in the 4th Magisterial District, Paul W. Rister (R) will take on Ralph Rogers (D).

The race for Calloway County Coroner will have voters deciding between Janus Vilardo (R) and incumbent Ricky Garland (D).

The nonpartisan ballot for City of Murray Mayor will have voters choosing between Bob Rogers and Ed Davis. The nonpartisan Murray City Council ballot will have 23 candidates, which will include 10 of the 12 incumbent Murray City Council members. The two incumbents that are not seeking re-election are Jason Pittman and Robert Billington, Jr. The top 12 in this race will be selected to make up the new Murray City Council. 

The 23 candidates on the ballot for Murray City Council are: Jane Brandon, Monty McCuiston, Deana Wright, Rose Ross Elder, Barbara Cobb, Ron "R.G." Gladden, Terry Strieter, Donnie Winchester, Pat Scott*, Jessica Evans, Danny O. Hudspeth*, John Mark Roberts*, Jane Shoemaker*, Linda Cherry*, Patricia W. "Pat" Seiber, Alice J. Rouse, Jeremy Bell*, Dan M. Miller*, Johnny Bohannon*, Burton Young*, Sue Hood, Rickie D. Spann, and Wesley Bolin*. (Incumbents are indicated by an asterisk.)

Voters in Murray will also choose three candidates from a field of five to be members of the Murray Independent School District Board of Education. These candidates are: Mark Vinson, Gina Shipley Winchester, Shawn Smee, Martin Milkman, and Miranda Terry.

The race for the nonpartisan Mayor of Hazel will have voters deciding between John "Scooter" Paschall and Alli Hillard Robertson.

The Hazel City Council race, also nonpartisan, will have voters choosing six candidates which will become the new council. There are six candidates on the ballot for Hazel City Council: Joe D. Thompson, Dale Taylor, Jodi M Hanneman, Gail Jones, Lisa Kell, and Lori Charlton.

Voters will also choose in a Constitutional Amendment referendum, if they are in favor of providing constitutional rights to victims of crime, including the right to be treated fairly, with dignity and respect, and the right to be informed and to have a voice in the judicial process.

There are 15 races in Calloway County that have only one candidate running unopposed, and one race that has no candidates*. These races are listed below:

Circuit Clerk: Linda Avery (R)
Property Valuation Administrator: Nikki McMillen-Crouch (D)
County Attorney: K. Bryan Ernstberger (R)
County Clerk: Antonia Dunn Faulkner (D)
Sheriff: Sam Steger (D)
Jailer: Kenneth Claud (D)
County Surveyor: Christopher B. Jones (R)
Magistrate-1st Magisterial District: Eddie Clyde Hale (I)
Constable-1st Magisterial District: *(No Candidates)
Constable-2nd Magisterial District: Bryan Paul Williams (D)
Magistrate-3rd Magisterial District: Don Cherry (R)
Constable-3rd Magisterial District: Tim Stone (D)
Constable-4th Magisterial District: Timmy R. Manning (D)
District Judge-42nd Judicial District: Randall A. Hutchens (Nonpartisan Judicial Ballot)
School Board Member-1st Educational District: Jay Housden (Nonpartisan)
School Board Member-3rd Educational District: Scott Lowe

The polls will open at 6:00 am, and will close at 6:00 pm. A sample ballot is linked below.

On the Net:

Calloway County General Election Sample Ballot

Published 06:59 AM, Saturday Nov. 03, 2018
Updated 03:07 PM, Sunday Nov. 04, 2018

Please login to leave a comment.
  • View Comment
    View Comments